Tuesday, March 31, 2009

NERVEBREAKERS TO BE SPECIAL GUEST DJs ON "RADIO NAPALM"!



http://blogs.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=blog.view&friendId=433076944&blogId=479866401

NERVEBREAKERS TO BE SPECIAL GUEST DJs FOR NEXT TWO WEEKS ON "RADIO NAPALM"!
Current mood:Hijacking the radio, baby!


Seminal Dallas punk rockers Nervebreakers - who were playing a mix of '60s garage/English rock, New York Dolls/Stooges-style protopunk and Raspberries-flavored power pop as early as 1975 (flavored with a healthy dose of Texas honky tonk twang) and went to open for every big touring punk band of the day (Ramones, Sex Pistols, The Clash) and release classic crush-rock seven-inchers as "My Girlfriend Is A Rock" - have officially reformed after 28 years away. A new CD, Face Up To Reality, has been recorded, containing tough new recordings of vintage Nervebreakers material never properly documented until now. And last week, the band played two smoking Austin shows around the SXSW goings-on (the band were not playing official showcases), with a Dallas date scheduled for April 11 at Club Dada.

After granting "RADIO NAPALM" the world premier of the forthcoming CD's title track, Nervebreakers vocalist (and longtime "RN" supporter) T. Tex Edwards and lead guitarist/musical director Mike Haskins joined me in The Garage (following their set last Saturday night at Antone's Records) for two-and-a-half hours of tales of their illustrious career and to spin a mix of Nervebreakers classics and some of their favorites. Woody Radio and I will present this special moment in two parts, beginning this week.

Join us Wednesday night at our usual time (10 PM EDT, 9 PM CDT, 8 PM MDT, 7 PM PDT) as T. Tex and Mike recount their beginnings, the beginnings of the Dallas punk scene, their shows with the Ramones and Sex Pistols, and the making of their first releases.There will also be our usual mix of insanity from across 50 years of punk rock. Simply go to www.woodyradio.com - the station plays instantly! Or scroll down the page and choose an independent player, or even listen via iTunes. And be sure join me and the Napalm Garage Irregulars in the chatroom - there might be a Nervebreaker or two there that night!

And don't forget: In two weeks, the debut of "RADIO NAPALM's" new weekly feature, "JOHN PEEL'S RECORD BOX!" See you there!

No comments: